Active Active   Unanswered Unanswered

Newbie with 76 23 Lancer

If it doesn't pertain to metal, fiberglass, wire or fabric—but it is about classic fiberglass Chris-Crafts, ask your question or give your advice here.

Moderators: Don Ayers, Al Benton, Don Vogt

artracing

Newbie with 76 23 Lancer

Post by artracing » Wed Sep 09, 2009 8:10 pm

I just bought a 1976 Lancer 23' Cuddy for restoration. I am looking for manuals on engine and outdrive. I have no boat experience. I have a complete machine shop if needed. I have all kinds of resources but nothing in the way of parts for this boat. I don't know where to start so I started here along with joining your club.
The boat has been in salt water and I am told the outdrive is in very bad shape. I will be picking up the boat in a few weeks.
My first task is the out drive. What are my options? Where do I go for parts?
Advice.

Rob

Wood Commander

Post by Wood Commander » Wed Sep 09, 2009 11:33 pm

Hi Rob. I've owned a 1968 19'Lancer with a Chevy/Chris Craft 283 "F" and a Volvo 280 outdrive. And I am presently trying to find time to work on my 1970 23' Lancer with a Chevy/Chris Craft 307 "Q", flywheel forward engine, and a Volvo 250 outdrive.

Chevy small blocks and Volvo drives were pretty common in these boats, and there were a few other combinations as well, including inboard tunnel drives and inboard V- Drives.

By the time your boat was built, I think that the Chris Craft marine conversion department had converted over to being Marine Power. Is your engine white or Chris Craft blue? Some Marine Power Chris Craft engines were blue and some were white, whereas most all of the purely Chris Craft engines were some shade of blue.

Personally, I like the Chevy/Volvo setup in these boats. But you have to scrounge around for Volvo parts. The good news is they are a pretty stout unit.