Active Active   Unanswered Unanswered

K Engine 12V Rewire

Keeping your powerboat under power is a lot easier with good advice. Post your power systems questions here.

Moderators: Don Ayers, Al Benton, Don Vogt

JohnsBonita

K Engine 12V Rewire

Post by JohnsBonita » Tue Aug 11, 2020 10:20 pm

Hello:

This is my first time posting. I have a 1961 18’ Chris Craft Sea Skiff with a 95 HP K engine. I am currently re-wiring it and I have pretty much everything figured out except for a few items. I am hoping someone can help.

Ammeter Wiring - The original engine wiring diagram states to wire the horn (and other high amp loads) on the battery side of the ammeter as to not deflect the gauge when activating the horn HOWEVER I am planning on installing a “zero center” ammeter that displays charge and discharge amps so I was just planning on installing a fuse panel off the gen/voltage reg output (that feeds everything including fused feeds to the horn and bilge pumps) and just have the ammeter monitor charge/discharge current back to batteries? Any fault with this logic? Also, the scale of the gauge (Faria Chesapeake) is 60-0-60, it may be a little high but I feel it will still read? I currently don’t have an ammeter so I don’t know magnitude of charge/discharge current?

Gen And Battery Fusing - Do I need to fuse the gen/voltage reg output? What about the battery output to the ammeter (not the cranking path). If yes, what size/type fuses and where have people mounted the fuses? At the engine? I currently have a small wood board that the voltage reg is attached to, screwed into stringers near engine. I could try and mount the fuses there? What about a battery disconnect?

Engine Water Temp - What is the recommended scale for the engine water temp? The gauge I am looking at using is 120-220F. I am asking because my current temp gauge doesn’t work (or at least read anything because temp is too cool?)