Active Active   Unanswered Unanswered

Not sure what this pump is

Your old Chris-Craft electrical system can be a challenge. If it runs on "juice" pose your questions and offer your advice here.

Moderators: Don Ayers, Al Benton, Don Vogt

debiby

Not sure what this pump is

Post by debiby » Wed May 16, 2012 7:22 pm

I pulled a cover in the rear bedroom floor looking for the rear bilge pump, is that what this is? It has a valve on it that says 1 and 2, one hose goes to the back of the boat, one to a thru hull in the bottom and one towards the front of the boat, haven't traced that hose yet and the other hose has some kind of fitting on the end. I am new to cruisers this large so can someone please tell me what this set up is for?

Dan Biby
38' Challenger "DreamOn"

Peter M Jardine

Post by Peter M Jardine » Thu May 17, 2012 2:45 pm

Could be an old washdown pump setup. Take it all out... the hose is either wrong, or just plain old.

doubleboater

Pump?

Post by doubleboater » Fri May 18, 2012 5:40 am

Or it could be a fresh water flush if the previous owners had the boat in salty or muddy water....

debiby

Post by debiby » Fri May 18, 2012 10:44 pm

It was in the great lakes. I will have to trace the lines and see what is on the other ends and also find a switch that makes it come on I just was hopeing some one has seen something like this.
Dan Biby
38' Challenger "DreamOn"

Capn Taz

Post by Capn Taz » Mon May 21, 2012 11:23 am

It's really hard to tell by the pictures, but the thoughts that come to mind are possibly a mascerator pump, see if the hoses to go a holding tank or head. Or possibly a wash down pump, see if a hose goes to a garden hose type fitting for washing the decks. That's the only idea's I have.
"Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming 'WOW What a Ride!'"