Active Active   Unanswered Unanswered

repairing rot on combing below scupper

Framing, planking and fairing. Repair, or reconstruction. If it's hull related, you'll find it here.

Moderators: Don Ayers, Al Benton, Don Vogt

rannamy

Post by rannamy » Wed Dec 12, 2007 8:09 am

I have an area of rot approx. 3" x 4" below the window scuppers where it looks like two planks where butted together to create the combing panels on my '49 33' CC deluxe enclosed cruser. I carefully gouged it out last night and it is at least 3/4" deep.
Can anyone give me help with locating a dutchman jig to purchase or how to purhaps fab one up?
Thanks,
Randy

Al Benton
Club Executive Team

Post by Al Benton » Wed Dec 12, 2007 9:57 pm

Randy,

Wasn't aware there is a jig for that. I'm fairly new at woodworking, so not surprising.

If it's tight quarters could you use a dremel or roto-zip to square up the damage? Isn't the Dutchman (graving piece) cut out close (slightly oversize) and then hand trimmed to fit, leaving it slightly proud for sanding flush?

My only experience with this was on an old red oak drawer front that was gouged. I used a router to cut the slot, a chisel to square it up, cut the Dutchman close with table and miter saws, then used a disc sander till it fit right. I glued the Dutchman in with epoxy. The grain was a little off but not bad for an amateur.

Be sure to soak the old wood with CPES or something to terminate the rot spores.

Al

P.S. Randy, I see the Boat Show is moving to the other end of the lake in March. Will they be changing the name to Tavares too?

rannamy

Post by rannamy » Thu Dec 13, 2007 8:20 am

Thanks for the reply Al. The technique you described is the same way I would normally approach this. I was hoping that someone had a more "sure-fire" way of assuring that the "fit" would come out precise. I've included a picture to better describe this common challenge to repair vs. replace.