Active Active   Unanswered Unanswered

250 drive 'fell'

Keeping your powerboat under power is a lot easier with good advice. Post your power systems questions here.

Moderators: Don Ayers, Al Benton, Don Vogt

a_lab_lover

250 drive 'fell'

Post by a_lab_lover » Sat Aug 28, 2010 7:52 pm

I'm new to power boating...and, okay...so it was not such a great day on the water today. First, I need to troubleshoot why my battery died (and left me in need of a tow!) despite a brand new alternator.

My primary concern, though is that though I lifted my 250 Volvo Penta outdrive prior to trailering this afternoon, after pulling the trailer out of the water and up the ramp to attach the tie-down straps, I found the drive in a fully down position! I lifted it by hand to secure it in the upright position with a strap for the drive home. Truth be told, there were a few big 'bumps' going up the ramp that likely caused this. My question is "what do I do now?" Why did the lift mechanism fail? Any advice on how to proceed? It's my understanding that I need this mechanism to hold the drive down while under power. Any advice much appreciated... :cry: :cry:
Brian Conklin-Powers
Portland, ME
'71 Lancer 19'

Wood Commander

Post by Wood Commander » Sat Aug 28, 2010 10:02 pm

Putting the boat in forward gear will hold the outdrive down, reverse is where you'll have a problem with it kicking up when not latched down.

I've owned a 19' Lancer with a 280 Volvo and I now own a 23' Lancer with a 250 Volvo drive, but it is a project.

Your drive should lock down when at the bottom of it's lift travel, but it is designed to pop up when hitting an underwater obstacle.