Active Active   Unanswered Unanswered

Suddenly poor running, KBL

Keeping your powerboat under power is a lot easier with good advice. Post your power systems questions here.

Moderators: Don Ayers, Al Benton, Don Vogt

kenkix

Suddenly poor running, KBL

Post by kenkix » Sat Jul 02, 2022 2:15 pm

Hi, guys

Overnight, my engine performance got very poor. I mean by this that, without load, the engine revs fine, sounds good. Under load (in forward gear):

-- it won't fully rev (only up to ~3000 rpm)
-- sounds "thumpy" (obviously I'm no mechanic)
-- water flow seems fine

The only thing that has changed is that we stop we moored in a very shallow sandy beach, just deeper than the rudder. I started it on that shallow area and left some divots. If the cooling system got clogged, would it cause poor engine performance? It seems like would just overheat.

Ideas?

Thank you

Ken
Ken
=====================
1950 Special Runabout: "Just for Kix"
Hull# SR17 1349
Engine# KBL 65216

Captain Nemo

Re: Suddenly poor running, KBL

Post by Captain Nemo » Sat Jul 02, 2022 4:39 pm

Check and see if you fouled something around your prop or shaft.
Boats are to be made of wood, otherwise, God would have grown fiberglass trees.

kenkix

Post by kenkix » Tue Jul 05, 2022 12:34 pm

Thank you for the suggestion. I had run my hand over the shaft and propeller by that time, but I donned some goggles and got a good look. Now it is on the hard. Nothing impeding the shaft/prop.
Ken
=====================
1950 Special Runabout: "Just for Kix"
Hull# SR17 1349
Engine# KBL 65216

L76

Post by L76 » Wed Jul 06, 2022 10:29 am